MESSERLI KRAMER

2023-2024 Minnesota Legislature Summary

This midterm, Minnesota DFL won a "trifecta" and will control the House (70-64), Senate (34-33) and Governor's Office for the first time since 2013-14. Overall, there are 68 new legislators to the 201-person legislature, which will make nearly one-third of the incoming legislature new.

The Legislature reconvenes on January 3rd.

Projected Budget Surplus

Projected general fund surplus of \$9.253 billion for FY 2022-23.

DFL Top Agenda Items for 2023

- Fully fund education
- Legalize marijuana
- Paid family leave and Medical leave
- Criminal Justice reform
- Reproductive rights legislation
- Exempting Social Security from state taxation

Minnesota Senate

Structure

- 34 DFL, 33 GOP
- 25 New Senate Members
 - 14 New DFL, 9 New GOP

Leadership

- DFL
 - o President of the Senate: Sen. Bobby Joe Champion
 - Majority Leader: Sen. Kari Dziedzic
- GOP
 - o Minority Leader: Sen. Mark Johnson
 - Leadership Team: Senators Julia Coleman, Justin Eichorn, Karin Housley, and Bill Weber

Committees* – The Senate DFL will need new chairs** for the following committees:

- Agriculture and Rural Development: Sen. Aric
 Putnam
- Capital Investment: Sen. Sandy Pappas
- Commerce and Consumer Protection: Sen. Matt Klein
- Education Finance: Sen. Mary Kunesh
- Education Policy: Sen. Steve Cwodzinski
- Elections: Sen. Jim Carlson
- Energy, Utilities, Environment and Climate:
 Sen. Nick Frentz
- Finance: Sen. John Marty
- Health and Human Services: Sen. Melissa Wiklund
- Higher Education: Sen. Omar Fateh
- Housing: Sen. Lindsey Port
- Human Services: Sen. John Hoffman

- Jobs and Economic Development: **Sen. Bobby Joe Champion**
- Judiciary and Public Safety: Sen. Ron Latz
- Labor: Sen. Jennifer McEwen
- Legacy and Natural Resources: Sen. Fuong Hawj
- Rules and Administration: Sen Kari Dziedzic
- State and Local Government and Veterans: Sen. Erin Murphy
- Taxes: Sen. Ann Rest
- Transportation: Sen. Scott Dibble

Sources:

- 1. https://mn.gov/mmb/forecast/forecast/
- 2. Election Directory
- *Committee structure is subject to change in both chambers of the legislature

^{**}Bolded names are Chairs named as of November 23, 2022

MESSERLI | KRAMER

Minnesota House of Representatives

Structure

- 70 DFL, 64 GOP
- 43 New House Members
 - 19 New DFL, 24 New GOP

Leadership

- DFL
 - Speaker of the House: Rep. Melissa Hortman
 - Majority Leader: Rep. Jamie LongMajority Whip: Rep. Athena Hollins
- GOP
 - o Minority Leader: Rep. Lisa Demuth
 - Deputy Minority Leader: Rep. Paul Torkelson
 - o Minority Whip: Rep. Jim Nash
 - Assistant Leaders: Representatives Dave Baker, Elliott Engen, Spencer Igo, Bjorn Olson, Kristin Robbins, Isaac Schultz, Peggy Scott, Nolan West

Committees* – The House DFL will need new chairs** for the following committees:

- Agriculture: Rep. Vang
- Capital Investment: Rep. Fue Lee
- Climate and Energy: Rep. Acomb
- Commerce: Rep. Stephenson
- Children and Families: Rep. Pinto
- Economic Development: Rep. Hassan
- Education Finance: Rep. Youakim
- Education Policy: Rep. Pryor
- Elections: Rep. Freiburg
- Environment and Natural Resources: Rep. Hansen
- Ethics: Rep. Moller
- Health: Rep. Liebling
- Higher Education: Rep. Pelowski
- Housing: Rep. Howard
- Human Services Finance: Rep. Noor
 Human Services Policy: Rep. Fischer

- Judiciary Finance and Civil Law: Rep. Becker-Finn
- Labor and Industry: Rep. Nelson
- Legacy: Rep. Lillie
- Property Tax Division: Rep. Lislegard
- Public Safety: Rep. Moller
- State and Local Government: Rep. Klevorn
- Sustainable Infrastructure: Rep. Koegel
- Taxes: Rep. Gomez
- Transportation: Rep. Hornstein
- Veterans and Military Affairs: Rep. Newton
- Ways and Means: Rep. Olson
- Workforce Development: Rep. Xiong

Sources:

- 1. https://mn.gov/mmb/forecast/forecast/
- 2. Election Directory
- *Committee structure is subject to change in both chambers of the legislature
- **Bolded names are Chairs named as of November 23, 2022